Raspberry Jam Cookies

For those of you who envy my baking-filled, knittastic lifestyle, I have a guilty admission for you: I sometimes fall down on the job.  I bet you are absolutely shocked.  The plague that I complained about a couple of posts ago caught up with me even more, and I didn’t bake what I had planned for Monday.

To prove that teatime is not just aspirational, I’ll tell you that we still managed to have tea every day.  We made do with leftover honey whole wheat pound cake, and we had a couple of days of hummus and fancy cheese.  No baking required, still awesome with tea!

Now that I’m slightly back on my feet, I did get some baking done this afternoon.  I adapted Joy the Baker’s Cherry Jam Cookie recipe in the ways that I frequently adapt things: Why use sugar when you can use honey?  I also subbed in some whole wheat flour and made a few other little tweaks.  Joy uses the titular cherry jam, but I like raspberry, so I used that instead.  I aspire to be a person with homemade jam that needs to be used up, and these cookies would be great for that.  And I did get some canning gear for Christmas!  But failing that, you can use whatever kind of jam your heart desires!

IMG_5775Raspberry Jam Cookies

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp salt
1 stick butter, softened
1/3 cup honey
1 egg
2 tsp buttermilk (you can sub plain ol’ milk if you want, that’s what Joy’s recipe uses)
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup jam (I used Bonne Maman raspberry)

Preheat oven to 350˚F, and line two cookie sheets with silicone mats or parchment paper.

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.  In a stand mixer or separate bowl, cream butter and honey together (on medium speed in a mixer), scraping down the sides to make sure that everything is well-incorporated.  Add egg and mix for two more minutes.  Turn mixer speed to low, and stir in buttermilk and vanilla until just combined.  Add jam, and mix until incorporated.  Then, add the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.  The dough will be sticky and thick (perfect for licking off of the mixer attachment.  Nom.).

Transfer the dough by the rounded tablespoon to your prepared cookie sheets.  Bake for 10-12 minutes, switching shelves halfway through the baking time.  Cool on the sheets for one minute, then transfer to cooling rack and/or mouth.

Leave a Reply

