Super-Honey Whole Wheat Pound Cake

As I mentioned in the previous entry, afternoon tea has been a big success for us.  I like an excuse to bake frilly things like cakes and scones, as well as having a snack when my husband and I get home rather than having to plunge right into making dinner.  And when I’m exhausted (which, let’s face it, I frequently am in these bleak Seattle winters), I can caffeinate enough that I’m not falling asleep at 8pm.  Well, usually.

This week’s baking menu consists of Honey Whole Wheat Pound Cake, Spiced Apple Cake, and Cherry Jam Cookies, all from Joy the Baker.  But, as loyal readers of this blog are certainly aware by now, I can’t leave well enough alone.  The apple cake will be baked this afternoon, and the cookies on Thursday, but I made the pound cake on Saturday.  Joy’s recipe makes a loaf pan plus six cupcakes, which is significantly more than we needed to get through a few days of tea, so I sized down the recipe to fit in the loaf pan only.  I also eliminated the sugar in favor of more honey, a favorite modification of mine, and made the other attendant changes.  It’s delicious!

cake

The cake remaining in our fridge after a couple days of tea. Maybe I should have taken the picture earlier?

Honey Whole Wheat Pound Cake
Adapted from Joy the Baker

makes 1 loaf pan

1-1/2 cups white whole wheat flour (or whole wheat pastry flour)
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 stick butter, softened
2/3 cup honey
1-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1/2 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350˚F.  Butter your loaf pan.  My favorite thrifty way to butter the pan in a recipe like this is to take your softened butter, use it as described in the recipe, then take the butter wrapper with the leftover butter sticking to it, and rub it over the interior of the pan.

Cream the butter and honey together (use medium on your electric mixer, if you have it) for 4 minutes.  While your mixer is mixing, combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl and set aside.

Add vanilla extract to your butter/honey mixture and mix in to combine.  Then add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.

While the mixer continues (or, if mixing by hand, mixing well after each addition), add about half of your combined dry ingredients to the mixture, then the buttermilk, then the remainder of the dry ingredients.  Scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl to ensure that all ingredients are fully incorporated.

Pour the batter into your prepared loaf pan and bake for about one hour, checking on it early to ensure that it doesn’t burn on top.  Let the cake cool in the loaf pan for 15-20 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack (and/or chowing down, if you’re us).  Enjoy!

3 comments

  1. Mmmm… I am going to try and make this on the weekend.

    ALSO! I’ve added Frankencookie as my one and only link on my blog! (Never you mind that my blog mostly collects dust. It’s sometimes hard for me to find motivation.)

    1. Aww, how sweet. Thanks, Raych!

  2. […] I’ll tell you that we still managed to have tea every day.  We made do with leftover honey whole wheat pound cake, and we had a couple of days of hummus and fancy cheese.  No baking required, still awesome with […]

Leave a Reply

