Teatime, the Cure for What Ails You

I’ve been sick as all get-out this week; missed three days of work!  Still, I managed to make afternoon tea happen as planned, and some nice orange spice tea was just the thing for my congested head and sore throat.  The new recipes I tried this week (Smitten Kitchen’s Poppy Seed Lemon Cake and Joy the Baker’s Brown Rice Rice Pudding) turned out lovely, although as per usual I put my own spin on things.

For the Poppy Seed Lemon Cake, “my own spin” is just blogger code for “I didn’t have a bundt cake pan.”  It turned out just as well in my 8″x8″ glass dish, though.  In the Brown Rice Rice Pudding, I just subbed whole milk for 2%, since that’s what we keep around, and eliminated the sugar in favor of more honey.  I’m sure this surprises no one, given my established predilection for honey.

To keep track of ideas and inspiration for teatime fare, I’ve created a Pinterest Board with some recipes and photo inspiration.  Any suggestions for favorite snacks, sweet or savory?  Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

