Simple Ginger Hazelnut Granola

For anyone who cares, I’m terribly sorry for the absence.  I had a few weeks off work, including a visit from my mom.  It was awesome, but it totally threw me off my schedule.  I did some fun stuff with Mom, including a trip to Churchmouse Yarns & Teas on Bainbridge Island, which I liked even better than my regular LYS (and that’s saying something!).  Mom was also kind enough to buy me a two-pound bag of hazelnuts on our visit to Pike Place Market, which kept me in hazelnuts for a good two weeks.  What with hazelnut butter, Frankencookies – and now this ginger hazelnut granola – I’m really going through the hazelnuts!

The recipe that I’m going to share with you today comes out of my simultaneous desires to make granola, and not go to the grocery store.  Almost every granola recipe I’ve ever read calls for multiple kinds of nuts, things like flax seed and wheat germ, and sweeteners like brown rice syrup that I just don’t keep around the house.  I was inspired to play with some ratios to create this hazelnut ginger granola, which consists entirely of ingredients that I actually keep in my house.  I love it, and it’s also a huge hit with my husband and his watchmaking classmates.

Simple Ginger Hazelnut Granola

Ingredients

3 cups oats
1 cup hazelnuts, chopped
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
2 tbsp butter, melted
1/2 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 250˚.  Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Add remaining ingredients, and mix very well, until mixture is a delicious sticky mass.

granolaDump mixture onto a jelly roll pan lined with parchment paper or silicone mat (this one is similar to mine) and pat until the mixture is somewhat uniformly distributed on the pan.

Bake for 60-75 minutes, stirring halfway through baking time.  Let cool as long as you can manage (I cooled it once overnight and it turned out clumpier, which I like), then give up and dig in.  Yum!

2 comments

  1. That sounds really good!

  2. Mmm…must try!

Leave a Reply

