Basic Market Salad

As I mentioned in my last post, my Carpal Tunnel is really giving me trouble.  It’s  super frustrating because apparently wrist usage is very important to my everyday life.  Who knew?  I made my penne aglio e olio last night, and it was still too much stirring.  I also caved and knit about 6 more rows of the trapped bar scarf, which was, in retrospect, kind of a terrible idea.  Ow.

If you’re looking for something even simpler than my penne recipe (or at least something requiring less stirring), I present to you this salad, inspired by summer market produce and my current inability to stir.  Feel free to add whatever inspires you from your local farmers’ market.  Use this as a template and follow your bliss!

Basic Market Salad

Serves 2

Ingredients

4 cups salad greens (arugala, baby spinach, or mixed greens)

2 eggs

2-4 small carrots

balsamic vinaigrette (see recipe – this works amazingly with an immersion blender in a mason jar)

sprinkling of firm cheese, grated (optional) – I leave this off mine, but my husband likes Bellavitano

 

market salad

my husband declared this “the best salad ever!”

Boil eggs according to these guidelines.  If you usually have trouble getting boiled eggs right, this post is a miracle.

While eggs cook, rinse greens in a colander and spin or pat dry

Scrub (or peel, depending on size) and grate carrots.  I make my husband do this when my wrist is being recalcitrant, although with the microplane it’s still not bad.  Toss grated carrots with greens.

When eggs are cooked and peeled, chop coarsely with a sharp knife, and toss with salad.  Add cheese, if using.

Serve salad in individual bowls and toss with your desired amount of dressing.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

