Frankencookies

When I was despairing of the rate at which I was going through Kashi Oatmeal Dark Chocolate cookies – those things aren’t cheap! – I felt inspired to try to bake some of my own.  Recipes I found searching online were complex and required more ingredients than I felt like dealing with.  Anyway, an exact duplicate of the Kashi cookies wasn’t necessary.  I was just hoping for reminiscent.

So, with that in mind, I thought I’d make an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie with whole wheat flour.  Lately I’ve been trying harder to stick to local food where possible, which made me want to go with honey instead of sugar.  After a few (delicious) attempts I felt that they were still missing something, hence the addition of hazelnuts, which make the cookies wonderfully crumbly.

The way in which these cookies were created from snippets of other recipes, as well as the prohibitive length of a strictly descriptive name, led to the Frankencookie.

Honey Whole Wheat Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Hazelnut Cookies AKA Frankencookies

Notes on ingredients: The honey taste really comes through, so I suggest a special honey if you can manage it.  I get mine locally from Seattle Urban Honey, and the difference between that and generic grocery store honey is super noticeable.  The nuts can be left out (add another cup of chocolate chips) or substituted for another type of nut; I just get hazelnuts locally.  Yum!

Ingredients:
1/2 cup of butter, softened
1/2 cup of honey
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 cups oats
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 teaspoon salt
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup roasted hazelnuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Cream together butter, honey, and vanilla.frankencookies

Add eggs one at a time, stirring well after each addition.

Stir in remaining ingredients except chocolate and nuts until well blended.   Then gently fold in chocolate and nuts.  Drop spoonfuls of dough onto cookie sheet, and smoosh with spatula or back of spoon.

Bake approximately 12 minutes or until just beginning to brown on top, switching oven racks halfway through for even baking.

4 comments

  1. Catherine · · Reply

    Do you do anything special to roast the hazelnuts?

    1. Sometimes you can buy them pre-roasted. If not, here’s the recipe I used to roast mine: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/To-Toast-and-Skin-Hazelnuts-14905

      They might be fine unroasted, too, I just haven’t tried it that way.

  2. […] these up plain, to enjoy the hearty flavors and the honey sweetness (you’re using good honey, right?), slather with butter, jam, homemade hazelnut butter, whipped cream… Oh, the […]

  3. […] – I can’t bake all the things, but if something takes place primarily in my mixer (like Frankencookies), that can be […]

Leave a Reply

